Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks James Record
Product images of Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks
Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks
Depiction of the south elevation and section of the second lighthouse built upon the Eddystone Rocks, near Plymouth, following the destruction in 1703 of Henry Winstanley's first version. This second lighthouse, a conical wooden structure built around a core of brick and concrete, was constructed under the management of the silk merchant and property developer John Rudyard (or Rudyerd; 1650- ca.1718). It was completed in 1709 and destroyed by a fire in 1755, subsequently replaced by the famous Smeaton lighthouse. Plate 6 of A narrative of the building and a description of the construction of the Edystone lighthouse with stone, by John Smeaton (London, 1791). The Royal Society's copy was donated by the author on 20 January 1791. The plate is inscribed: 'South ELEVATION & SECTION of RUDYERD'S LIGHTHOUSE, Completed in 1709; represented as it stood previous to its demolition by Fire in the Year 1755.' Includes scale: 1 inch = 6 feet
Original: line engraving. 1784
- Image reference: RS-10378
- The Royal Society
More by the artist James Record.
Explore the collection Engineering and architectural prints and drawings.
We use a 280gsm fine art paper and premium branded inks to create the perfect reproduction.
Our expertise and use of high-quality materials means that our print colours are independently verified to last between 100 and 200 years.
Read more about our fine art prints.
Manufactured in the UK
All products are printed in the UK, using the latest digital presses and a giclée printmaking process.
We only use premium branded inks, and colours are independently verified to last between 100 and 200 years.